Monday, April 2, 2012

FBLA Attends State Conference

The Chadron High Future Leaders of America attended the annual State Leadership Conference in Omaha on March 29-31, which was the 50th Celebration Year of Nebraska FBLA.  While at the conference, students went on a big business tour of the TD Ameritrade Center, listened to the keynote speaker, Keith Hawkins, and attended a variety of workshops.  But most importantly, Chadron students competed amongst all class levels in many different business competitions.  Chadron was represented well by the local FBLA chapter as students took trips across the stage to receive their awards.  Peyton Hinn and Bailea Kerr placed 4th with their E-Business Project. Chrissy Calamari made it into semi-finals of job interview and received an honorable mention for her achievement. Trevor Hinn made it into the final round of Impromptu Speaking and landed an 8th place spot.  Caston Stack represented Chadron well with a 7th place finish in Introduction to Technology Concepts and an honorable mention in Keyboarding Knowledge.  Honors also went to Ashlynne Noble and Kaylee Gaswick for qualifying for the All-State Quality Member and Trevor Hinn was Chadron’s representative for Who’s Who in Nebraska FBLA and received a plaque for that honor.  As a chapter, Chadron received the Sweepstakes Award also earning a plaque. The following is a list of the awards and accomplishments among members in attendance:

·      E-Business – Peyton Hinn and Bailea Kerr – 4th  Place (out of 4 teams)
·      Impromptu Speaking – Trevor Hinn – 7th Place (out of 40 students)
·      Job Interview – Chrissy Calamari – Honorable Mention (top 4% of 432 students)
·      Keyboarding Knowledge – Caston Stack – Honorable Mention (top 4% of 359 students)
·      Introduction To Technology Concepts – Caston Stack – 7th Place (out of 157 students)
·      Web Site Design – Kaylee Gaswick, Taylor Stotheide and Jaycee Housh – 8th Place (out of 12 teams)
·      All-State Quality Member Award – Ashlynne Noble and Kaylee Gaswick
·      Chapter Sweepstakes Award
·      Who’s Who in Nebaska FBLA Award – Trevor Hinn